What's New

What's New

2016 Governor's Arts Awards Recipients Announced

Arkansas Arts Council - Monday, November 23, 2015

The Arkansas Arts Council is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Governor’s Arts Awards. Sponsored annually by the Arkansas Arts Council, the Governor's Arts Awards recognize individuals and corporations for outstanding contributions to the arts in Arkansas.

The recipients were nominated by the public and then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state. Each recipient will be honored at a ceremony in the spring and will receive an original work of art created by Arkansas artist Kelly Edwards of North Little Rock. (Date and location of ceremony TBA.)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Suzanne Vining Kunkel, Little Rock

Arts Community Development Award

Dr. Dean Kumpuris, Little Rock

Arts in Education Award

The Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas, Pine Bluff

Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award

Deltic Timber, El Dorado

Folklife Award

Sonny Burgess and The Legendary Pacers, Newport

Individual Artist Award

RB McGrath, Jacksonville

Patron Award

Dr. Thomas A. Bruce, Little Rock

Judges Recognition Award

Theresa Timmons-Shamberger, Maumelle

The selection committee members included Mildred Franco, Arkansas Arts Council board, Pine Bluff; Ed Clifford, The Jones Center, Bentonville; Aj Smith, University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Chris James, The Roots Art Connection, North Little Rock; and Cathy Cunningham, Southern Bancorp Community Partners, Helena.